I’m really interested in this idea of collection and contextualisation of objects and artefacts  – whether organic or otherwise. 
Interestingly I also learnt Artefact is a term used in imaging to describe errors in the imaging process. They can happen for numerous reasons, often based on the scanner settings – for example if the scanner is too slow to capture the data (I.e. a beating heart ) the images may be blurred. Or elements may overlap, like in this example. I guess it’s a little like the settings of a camera, where you control shutter speed, aperture etc.
I think the scans we produced with my specimens produced quite a few artefacts! But again, it’s interesting to think of these machines as imaging making devices in their own right.

Thanks to Jack Allen. (Research Associate at CMR Unit, Royal Brompton Hospital) for his insight into this.  

Image – In this MRI scan “The part of the body that lies beyond the edge of the FOV is projected on to the other side of the image. “
Source – https://radiopaedia.org/articles/mri-artifacts-1?lang=gb

Author: davidlemm

David Lemm is an artist based in Edinburgh.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started